Oakland’s SILENCE IN THE SNOW began in 2015 as an introspective vision between Cyn M (voice/guitars) and Andy Z (synth/organ) to create a musical outlet heavy with melancholy and brooding atmosphere. The desire to work with a minimalistic palette and retain sonic intensity inspired their debut album, Break In The Skin, which was released November 2016.

Since the initial formation, SILENCE IN THE SNOW has played alongside notable acts such as Drab Majesty, Them Are Us Too, King Dude, Emily Jane White, Hide, and King Woman.

In early 2017, SILENCE IN THE SNOW began to evolve from the stripped-down, surrealistic shimmer of the debut LP by adding Trevor DeSchryver (Lycus, Dispirit) on drums, bringing a powerful dynamic to the overall sound. 

The band is currently writing and recording new material that pushes the sound into heavier territories while maintaining spacious, emotional resonance.

Photo: Alex Lev