News & Updates

SISLP_Cover_Final_cln copy.jpg

Break In The Skin

by Silence In The Snow




Oakland’s SILENCE IN THE SNOW began as an introspective vision to create a musical outlet heavy with melancholy and brooding atmosphere. The desire to work with a minimalistic palette and capture sonic catharsis inspired the debut album, Break In The Skin, which was released in November 2016. The record was well received by music journalists such as Belwood Music and Cvlt Nation:

"Enter Silence in the Snow, who appear to have mixed the dark, deliberate drama of post punk with the lush soundscapes of dream pop, through what can only be described as musical alchemy. With their debut album this duo have created their own unique sound that is both sparse and expansive in equal measures." -Belwood Music

"The vocalist of this band, Cyn M, is enchanting; pure magic laced with power and pain...Their whole LP, Break in the Skin, is packed full of ethereal gems that will keep you pressing replay non-stop!" -CVLT NATION

In early 2017, SILENCE IN THE SNOW began to build on the stripped-down, surrealistic shimmer of the first album with the addition of live drums. This evolution brought a new dynamic to the sound, pushing the envelope into heavier territories while maintaining spacious, emotional resonance. The band hit the road for their first tour in the summer of 2017.

The Los Angeles show caught the attention of writer Ben Manzella of Heathen Harvest, who stated "they presented a unique interpretation of post-punk or dark rock which felt especially refreshing."

Since the initial formation, SILENCE IN THE SNOW has played alongside notable acts such as DRAB MAJESTY, THEM ARE US TOO, KING DUDE, EMILY JANE WHITE, HIDE, KING WOMAN and CHROME.

The band is set to record the new album in June of 2018 at Atomic Garden Studios with Jack Shirley to be released on Prophecy Productions.

Tour dates will be announced soon.

SILENCE IN THE SNOW is Cyn M (vocals, guitar) and Trevor DeSchryver (drums)



Name *